About Scott Carroll, CMAA

Region 3 & Past-President: Scott Carroll, CMAA


Region 3 Serves the Following Counties:

Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Hamilton, Marion, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, Sequatchie


Scott Carroll starting teaching and coaching in 1994 at CMS and became the schools third athletic director in 1997. Carroll oversees the athletics program, which encompasses 22 varsity teams and 11 JV teams with over 600 students participating in athletics.  Carroll has coached football for 28 years, Baseball at Cleveland High School for 20 years and was head wrestling coach for 8 years winning numerous tournament championships and conference championships.  Carroll was the Tennessee Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association A.D of the year in 2011.  He also was the Tennessee Baseball Coaches Association Assistant coach of the year in 2011.

Scott graduated from Lee University with BS in History and has a Masters of Education in School Leadership from Carson Newman University. Since he began his tenure as AD at CMS, Cleveland has added 9 new sports and built a new middle school where he designed and oversaw construction of the overall sports complex which included a track, softball and baseball fields, football/soccer stadium and a three court gymnasium and weight room. He oversees a coaching staff of 49 coaches along with a strength and conditioning coach. He also developed and implemented the strength and conditioning program for middle school which now includes advanced PE classes and after school classes for athletes and the faculty at CMS. He is also the current President of the South East Tennessee Athletic Conference and was the past president of the Tennessee Valley Athletic Conference.

Carroll has been involved in the TIAAA since 2005. Scott joined the board of the TIAAA when his mentor, Larry Payne retired in 2010. He has attended every state conference since then and has also attended three national conferences. He holds the certification of Certified Master Athletic Administrator. Carroll has taken over 20 LTC courses, and presented at the state and national level. In 2018, he was named the NIAAA State Award of Merit recipient from Tennessee.  He served as the TIAAA President from 2020-2022.